SFUAD Announces 2014 Robert Redford/Milagro Initiative Scholarship Recipients

Date published

Two students receive Unique Voice full-ride scholarships; 16 receive Emerging Artist scholarships

Media Contact:

Lauren Eichmann

Santa Fe, N.M.—August 13, 2014—Santa Fe University of Art and Design (SFUAD) today announced the 2014 Robert Redford/Milagro Initiative Scholarship recipients, who come from nine U.S. states. Students Nayereh Doosti of Interlochen, Michigan, who is originally from Iran, and Lobsang Tenzin of Portland, Oregon, an asylee from Tibet, were selected to receive Unique Voice Scholarships, full-ride awards worth approximately $160,000 each toward a four-year degree. Sixteen other students received Emerging Artists Scholarships, which cover up to $15,000 or $7,000 per year, depending on their program of study. The scholarship program, which first awarded students in 2013, currently has 28 enrolled awardees receiving more than $2 million over the course of their studies at SFUAD.

“I’m pleased to announce this year’s scholarship recipients, all of whom have demonstrated a passion for their craft and for communicating stories of underrepresented populations,” said celebrated actor and Academy Award–winning director Robert Redford. “I look forward to seeing all that these students accomplish at Santa Fe University of Art and Design, as it’s clear they have bright futures ahead of them.”

While the Unique Voice Scholarship is awarded to students who represent and bring forth the voice of Indigenous people from the United States and around the world, all awardees must demonstrate appreciation for the mission of the Robert Redford/Milagro Initiative Scholarship Program: the desire to pursue a fulfilling life and career in the arts; the belief that positive social change comes through the study of the arts and lifelong learning; and the goal of promoting voices that are not always part of the conventional dialogue.

The scholarship program is funded by the university, and recipients were selected by Robert Redford and The Milagro Initiative, a nonprofit organized as a center for creative training in film, the arts and sustainable futures. The Milagro Initiative is directed by Kathleen Broyles, feature film program consultant for theSundance Institute and a member of The Film School at SFUAD’s Advisory Board.

“The quality of applicant submissions this year has led Mr. Redford, The Milagro Initiative, and Kathleen Broyles to award even more of these selective scholarships in 2014 than in 2013,” said Larry Hinz, president of SFUAD. “I appreciate their continued support in choosing these qualified students, and I’m pleased to welcome the aspiring young artists into the SFUAD community. As Redford Scholars, they will have the opportunity to receive mentorship from The Milagro Initiative through storytelling workshops and other special events.”

Recipients of the 2014 Robert Redford/Milagro Initiative Scholarships

Unique Voice Scholarships:

Nayereh Doosti, Creative Writing; Interlochen, Michigan

Lobsang Tenzin, Film; Portland, Oregon

Emerging Artist Scholarships:

Marcus Alston, Film; Columbus, Ohio

Michelle Bolin, Studio Art; Stanley, New Mexico

Kevin Bouton-Scott, Studio Art; Las Vegas, New Mexico

Max Callahan, Contemporary Music; San Jose, California

Rio Finnegan, Film; Tucson, Arizona

Madeleine Garcia, Theatre; San Antonio, Texas

Caleb Garvin, Contemporary Music; Hailey, Idaho

Noah Lambert, Film; Austin, Texas

Elizabeth Lynch, Digital Arts; Window Rock, Arizona

Kate Martin, Film; San Antonio, Texas

Jose Antonio Partida, Film; Coronado, California

Javier Rodriguez, Film; El Paso, Texas

Destiny Trahern, Film; Amarillo, Texas

Raven Two Feathers, Film; Seattle, Washington

Antonio Valdez, Film; Santa Fe, New Mexico

Nicolai Valdivieso-Sinyakov, Film; Austin, Texas

To be considered for the Redford/Milagro Initiative Scholarship Program in 2015, students must submit materials required for admission to the university, an essay and/or video addressing why they want to become a Redford/Milagro Initiative scholar, and a portfolio of work demonstrating an appreciation of the program’s mission. The 2015 deadline is February 5. More information can be found at

Be the first to comment

Have your say

Incorrect, please try again